

FACULTY SENATE

May 3, 2016 (Special Meeting)

CHAIR: DENTAL MEDICINE:
Phil Glick Ilaf Almawadi

SECRETARY: Michael Hatton
Cynthia Tysick Ray Miller

ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING:

Shannon Bassett

ARTS & SCIENCES:

Alex Anas

Ana Mariella Bacigalupo (Franquea-alt

present)

Michael Cowen Sergey Dolgopolski Stephen Dyson

Walter Hakala David Johnson Jacob Kathman Nicholas Lustig Sara Metcalf

Peter Morgan

Alyssa Mt. Pleasant

Harvey Palmer Katja Praznik David Schmid

Adam Sikora

Jean-Jacques Thomas Camillo Trumper Paul Zarembka

Ewa Ziarek

GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:

Maureen Boyd Kayte Conroy Lilliam Malave Sarah Robert Margaret Sallee

Benita Sobieraj

ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:

Paschalis Alexandridis Christine Human Igor Jankovic James Jensen

Joseph Mollendorf

Adel Sadek

Sabanayagam Thevanayagam

Robert Wetherhold

LAW:

Martha McCluskey Matt Steilen

Mateo Taussig-Rubbo

MANAGEMENT:

Jun Ru

Larry Sanders (spring) Sudhir Suchak (fall) Faculty Senate 5/3/16 Page 2 of 3

MEDICINE & BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES:

Omar Al-Ibrahim Nikolaos Almyroudis Daniel Amsterdam Daniel Antonius Jeffrey Anker Peter Bradford Michael Chaskes

George Chen Clarice Cooper Peter Elkin Julia Faller Edward Fine

Richard Gronostajski

James Hassett Hoon Jung (left UB) Supriya Mahajan Dennis Nadler

Chukwumere Nwogu

Sangita Patel

Garbriela Popescu

Rajeev Sharma

George Simpson

Satpal Singh

Susan Udin

Taechin Yu

NURSING:

Grace Dean Donna Fabry

PHARMACY:

Alice Ceacareanu Fred Doloresco

PUBLIC HEALTH & HEALTH PROFESSIONS:

Peter Horvath Heather Kearns Jim Lenker

SOCIAL WORK:

Robert Keefe Kathleen Kost

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES:

Glendora Johnson-Cooper

Liz Stellrecht Margaret Wells

SUNY SENATORS:

Ezra Zubrow (excused)

Phil Glick Jamal Basaran

TBD

PARLIAMENTARIAN:

Richard Gronostajski

GUESTS:

Satish Tripathi, President Chip Zukoski, Provost Dominic Licata, PSS Chair Faculty Senate 5/3/16 Page **3** of **3**

Meeting began at 3:00pm

- Chair's report
- Presentation by Nancy Patton on the new UB Brand
- 2nd reading of Resolution on Diversity, Inclusion, Academic Freedom & Freedom of Speech by Diane Christian-approved with amendments
 - Motion to append a similar resolution written by the Academic Freedom and Responsibility Committee to the resolution.-approved
 - o Motion to replace inclusion with responsibility in the title-defeated
 - Motion to add responsibility to "diversity and inclusion governed by responsibility, tolerance and mutual respect"-approved
 - Motion to remove the word "marketplace" and replace with "in this public forum of ideas"approved
 - Motion to add "and artistic expression" to "freedom of speech" in the body of the resolutionapproved
- 2nd reading of Resolution for Modified Faculty Duties post FMLA-approved
- 2nd reading of Resolution for Bylaws change to add PSS Chair and COAL rep-tabled until Fall 2016

Meeting adjourned at 4:24p Submitted by Cynthia Tysick, Secretary of the Faculty Senate